EE Sports World

Your number one source for expert sports analysis on the web

I am Quickly Losing Interest in College Basketball

Don’t get me wrong. I love the Xavier Musketeers. I follow them more closely than every other major sports team except for the Bengals. It’s the rest on the NCAA that I could care less about.

It’s starting to get ridiculous. What’s even the point of liking a top power conference team anymore; more specifically nearly any top-10 team in the rankings. I don’t get it. Maybe I’m wrong, but it just seems like any decent player that plays well his freshman year at a Duke, UNC or Ohio St. enters the draft right away.

Sometimes, it’s okay because I understand the player may have financial issues in the family, but this whole ‘must play one year of pro ball overseas or one year in college.’ All this is doing, is creating more one and done players at the NCAA level. It’s making following college basketball not fun anymore.

I could care less about anyone else in the NCAA anymore except for the A-10, the conference Xavier plays in.

The part where it starts to get a little ridiculous is when players average under 10 points per game their freshman year, but still enter the draft because of their ‘upside.’ It makes it impossible to keep up with the power conference teams.

You’re reading this thinking, “Wow. Rant and whine much? What do expect to be done about it you big baby?”

Now, I’m not saying that there even is a solution, and yes, that’s exactly what I’m doing. Ranting. It’s nice to get these off your chest every once in a while.

Is there any possible way that there could be an evaluation process? First off, determine if the player is ready to make the jump straight from high school to the NBA. Then, after the evaluation process, make some exceptions for aforementioned financial issues.

I know it’s far-fetched, and that there probably isn’t a solution simply because of the way it is nowadays, I think I’m allowed to dream.

Please don’t eat me alive.

3 responses to “I am Quickly Losing Interest in College Basketball

  1. dmills14 March 5, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    I agree with that. I like it so much more when player’s stick around throughout college. Mainly because they love playing college basketball. My prime exampe is Tyler Hansbrough. Dude loved Carolina, loved college basketball. He had the UNC fan base pumped up every game. Just like Kyle Singler does for Duke this year. He could have easily went into the draft last year.

  2. thepidemic March 6, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Haha, I’ve felt this way about college hoops ever since that rule was put in place. Anyones name who is worth knowing, is gone the next year anyways. I think they should require at least three years of college (or 3 years overseas) before being drafted. It’s not just that so many of theses guys aren’t ready, because soem fo them are. But it is destroying college basketball in my opinion. I would really hate to have to be a head coach, or kind of recruiter in college basketball. First question I would ask…..You’re a great h.s. talent, and we have a great university that can turn you into a great player. but I need to know, do you have any intentions of being at our university longer than one year?

  3. berger987 March 6, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    The thing is, I’ve been losing interest in college basketball slowly but surely for the the 3-4 years. But now with my NBA fanhood revival this year, it’s making college basketball drop very quickly for me. If Xavier wasn’t my favorite team, I probably would pay little to no attention to college bball from now on.. No sense rooting for a team using rental players every year.

Leave a Reply

