EE Sports World

Your number one source for expert sports analysis on the web

NL East Preview

Without further ado, I give to you, the NL East Preview!

By Jacob Schweitzer

EE Sports World Contributor

NL East   (Braves, Marlins, Mets, Nationals, Phillies)

Prediction: 1st-Phillies, 2nd– Braves, 3rd-Mets, 4th-Marlins, 5th-Nationals

Phillies: I’m pretty sure every person in the world is going to have the Phillies winning the NL East, considering most people like them to at least be playing in the World Series. The reasons for this are just too obvious. The Phillies starting rotation is way too loaded for anyone else in the majors to compete with. Hamels, Halladay, Oswalt, and Lee. Who the heck is going to be able to play with these guys in a five or seven game series? In my opinion, no one will be able to. I just don’t know how anyone in baseball can beat these guys come playoff time.

Braves: Atlanta has a lot of talent, young and old. I just feel bad for them and the rest of the division that they have to try and compete with Philadelphia. They don’t have near enough pitching to compete with the Phillies for the division crown and their lineup won’t be able to stack up either. One thing the Braves have that the Phillies don’t though, Jason Heyward, who in my opinion is a true superstar in the near future.  The Braves have a lot of potential but I don’t really think they’re going to be anything too special this year.

Mets: New York has been on my bad side since the Bernie Madolf scandal, but they have Johan Santana. I still love that guy from what he did with the Twins and I believe he still has a lot in the tank and would be a crucial reason if the Mets were to go anywhere this season.  Jose Reyes seems to have some discipline issues at times, but I love him as a player as well. I like the Mets finishing third.

Marlins: I’ve always had a lot of respect for the Marlins, simply because they are the poorest team in baseball so I give them a lot of props for trying to compete with other teams with the money that they have. Another thing I love about the Marlins is Hanley Ramirez. He’s a superstar and one of the best shortstops in the game. The Marlins just flat out don’t have enough fire power to compete with even the Braves, much less the Phillies. I love the Marlins for I guess you could say what they don’t have, but what they also don’t have is very much talent.

Nationals: You know, honestly I still think of the Nationals as the Expos. So obviously, that shows they really haven’t changed much as a franchise except for the fact of where they play and what the name of the team is. There’s never really been any success as long as I can remember, and I don’t see any coming in the foreseeable future either. The same goes for the Nationals as it does for the Marlins, not even close to enough star power and talent to play with the Phillies. However, the Nationals do have Ryan Zimmerman, Jayson Werth and Stephen Strasburg, so they do have the building blocks to move forward in the future.

Check back tomorrow for the AL East Preview!

One response to “NL East Preview

  1. thepidemic March 1, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Johan Santana won’t be back until July at the earliest, so I’m not sure how much of a factor he can be this year? I think David Wright is by far their best player.

    The Nats have a lot of great young talent including 18 year old Bryce Harper, who should be a stud in a couple of years. But it’s gonna be hard for them to re-sign all those guys when they saddled themselves with such a huge contract to Jayson Werth, who is a nice player, but not worth what they gave him imo.

Leave a Reply

