EE Sports World

Your number one source for expert sports analysis on the web

Rampage Owner Derrick Miller Responds to ‘Underdog’ Tag

Rampage owner Derrick Miller was asked about his feelings on being tagged the underdogs before the preseason even gets under way.

“It really doesn’t bother me. People can talk all they want. What matters is the performance on the field, and I’m confident our team can perform.”

Miller was also asked about all the trash-talking going on between other team. “Let them trash talk. Personally I get a good laugh from it. Hopefully the owners know what they are doing and maybe this is a route they use to help get their team pumped up and focused. As for me, I’ll stay out of the trash talk. For now. . .” Miller stated with a smile.

Ending the interview, Miller was questioned about his strategy against opponents going into the season. “No comment. As of now all i’m focused on is looking over the team and figuring out our definite strengths and weaknesses. I got a steal in the 3rd round with Terry Weber, and that’s huge. I’ll definitely use that to our advantage. There is still 60 some days left, so there is plenty of time to stratigize for opponents. Right now I am just focused on our team, Team Rampage, and trying to figure out what the best direction is for this team.”  

Rampage is projected by experts to go as high as 5-3 and as low as 1-7.

15 responses to “Rampage Owner Derrick Miller Responds to ‘Underdog’ Tag

  1. berger987 February 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I love how everybody is so confident. This is gonna be a fun season.

  2. ande22 February 3, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    The only one yet to make any statments about the strengths of their team is Jacob. Maybe he hasn’t discovered any yet? haha

  3. dmills14 February 4, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Haha with the speed of his team, i doubt it. lol

  4. berger987 February 4, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Haha I don’t think I’ve made a statement. Unless talking to you counts.

  5. dmills14 February 4, 2011 at 9:26 am

    haha i’m just surprised you haven’t really trashed talked berger because you usually like to for the fun of it. lol

  6. berger987 February 4, 2011 at 9:32 am

    This is one of those cases where I just feel it isn’t quite needed yet. I haven’t talked trash to seth, because it just gets old. I feel bad when I do to Andy, because I am trying to be nice and make his downfall hurt a little less, and when I try to trash talk you, you never say anything. Mainly because you don’t think you’re going to be very good and you think it’ll bite you in the butt. 🙂

    But let me just say this, there will be a little bit coming in the future. And I’m also going to be writing an article on the EEFL, and I think it’s going to be a pretty good one. we’ll have to wait and see.

  7. berger987 February 4, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Besides, I have Clayton on my team. I’m not going to be short on trash talking come season time. We have the best trash-talking duo in the league. And we can back it up… with tim.

  8. ande22 February 4, 2011 at 10:26 am

    I haven’t trash talked another team unless they make a comment about being the best offensive and defensive team in the league and say they are being serious. There is nothing you can base any of that off of. Derrick and I have the advantage as far as game-planning goes because we know what works and what doesn’t in flag football. Not taking anything away from any other teams, but there is a whole lot more to flag football than what meets the eye if you want to have a winning team. So for someone who has never played flag football to already state that they are going to have the best everything in the league without ever playing a flippin pre-season game, is a bit ridiculous and insulting.

    • berger987 February 4, 2011 at 11:02 am

      I didn’t talk 1 ounce of trash to you till you were telling me you were going undefeated and you were the Steelers of the league and everybody hates you because you’re good. If that doesn’t count as trash talk, then nothing does.

      And sorry, but I think of myself as a pretty smart individual, and with all of the research I have done on flag football PLUS a couple games I have watched I think I’ve got a pretty good understanding on what it takes to win in flag football.

    • berger987 February 4, 2011 at 11:05 am

      let’s not forget I also have a flag footballer already on my team.

  9. dmills14 February 4, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I’m just not very good at trash talking 🙂

  10. ande22 February 4, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I did all that talk right away to make it fun. If noone is going to trash talk a little it gets kinda boring because honestly without trash talk what would we be talking about now? lol

  11. berger987 February 4, 2011 at 11:08 am

    I agree with you, but it’s kind of insulting when you say we know nothing about what it takes to win. I actually do agree with you in Seth’s case, because I personally don’t know for sure if he knows what it takes, but judging by his complaints against the rules that were implemented from the start, implies that he doesn’t. I just take a little offense when you say we all don’t know, as a whole, because I’ve been to some flag football games and have a flag footballer on my team, AND I have done my due dilligence looking all of it up.

  12. ande22 February 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Haha well you have a wide knowledge of sports and may be an exception. But I dont want to take anything away from Seth because he does have a mind for any athletic activity but the changes he wanted in the rules would have made the games boring as far as giving the qb 10 seconds to throw the ball. ive played with 6 seconds for two years and know that it works perfectly. I didn’t say you guys dont know what it takes to win it at all, there just may be a bit of an advantage for Miller and I. But if you look at it that way you have Tim and Seth has Jamon on his team. So it could equal out.

  13. jharberts February 4, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I think if you are gonna say that Seth has no flag football experience, you need to look at Jacobs team as well, no offense to Jacob. I know Jacob hasn’t trash talked yet, but if you are basing projections on flag football experience, his team is lacking.

Leave a Reply

