EE Sports World

Your number one source for expert sports analysis on the web

Marlins Move Games to Seattle: U2 Rules All

The Florida Marlins are moving a 3 game series with the Seattle Mariners on June 24-26 to Seattle from Miami, due to a U2 concert at Sun Life Stadium.

Is anyone else getting the hint?

I don’t think it will be long before the MLB takes the franchise out of Miami and puts it somewhere else such as Portland (seems like a decent spot for a team and the NBA worked out there), Omaha (home of the college world series and successful minor league team), or Albuquerque (great support for the minor league team there.)

Baseball just doesn’t live in Florida. On opening day in 2010, the Marlins ranked 26th in payroll, and 28th in attendance.

Granted, they aren’t the worst team, because you could easily make the same case for the Pirates especially, and maybe the Royals, but they haven’t gotten a set of games moved for a music concert.

The band needs three days to set up their one day concert event.

Bono owns the Marlins.

If the MLB actually does want the Marlins to stay, one thing they could do is get a salary cap enforced. Maybe bringing a little parity  would help out matters a little bit? Maybe they could impose a payroll minimum?

Whatever they decide to do, I don’t think it will work. Nothing is going to turn around their fan base. It’s very unlikely that their owners will have the desire to win bad enough to actually win. We all remember the year they won the World Series, but that was in the past. This is now, and the Marlins aren’t cutting it.

The Marlins will be defunct or relocated in the next 5 to 10 years.

4 responses to “Marlins Move Games to Seattle: U2 Rules All

  1. thepidemic January 28, 2011 at 12:34 am

    I agree. The marlins should have left several years ago. Both times they have won the world series, they fire saled their players right afterwards. I love Florida, but there shouldn’t be an mlb team there. Both stadiums in Florida are terrible. Anyone who has been in Miami in July can relate to me saying that they should have a retractable roof for the same reason Houston does. This article touches on a lot of my personal connections. My uncle (mom’s brother) Manny Estrada used to be a scout for the marlins and is now working in the dodgers organization. You could only imagine how frustrating it must have been to work for them. I was raised in Tacoma (just south of Seattle) and have been living in Albuquerque for about eight years now. Last spring the mariners and rockies played a series here and I got autographs from Felix Hernandez, Ubaldo Jimenez, and Todd Helton. I will have plenty of time to rant on the mariners another time. Ironically, Albuquerque switched back to being the dodgers’ triple a team again a few years ago. When I first moved here, they were the marlins’ team. It’s a nice park here, and the ball really travels here in the southern rockies (Sandias). While I don’t this area can afford an NFL team, I think an MLB team here would do just fine.

  2. berger987 January 28, 2011 at 9:25 am

    That’s crazy awesome with the connections. I want to say Manny Estrada sounds familiar, but can’t put my finger on him.

    I think the biggest problem is that the fans just live for spring baseball and not mlb. I could be wrong though, I don’t know much about the area, I don’t know Florida, and all of this is an educated guess. I think the main thing keeping the Rays well right now is that they’re winning, but they still aren’t bringing in the crowds.

  3. thepidemic January 28, 2011 at 10:39 am

    While in triple-A, my uncle was hitting .060 points higher than the guy they chose to call up instead (Willie Randolph) and their fielding %’s were practically dead even. At the time there was pressure to get more American blacks in the bigs, and the club already had plenty of Hispanics. My mother’s family moved to the U.S. from Cuba when her and my uncle were little. For what? So they could be victims of politics here too?

  4. berger987 January 28, 2011 at 11:20 am

    You know what’s funny, is that I looked up his numbers and it baffles me a little bit. Since when does a guy hitting .300 at age 23 in AAA not get a call up to the majors?

Leave a Reply

